×
×

Welcome to AMC!

Welcome!


African Movie Channel (AMC) is a global player in the rapidly expanding African film industry which is now the second largest film industry in the world. African Movie Channel's 24-hour linear channel dedicated to the best Nollywood and African movies and series is available across 14 countries, and is one of the most popular channels in Africa.

Read More

×

AMCOP

AMCOP

team

AMCOP Sunday Night Movie

Directly from our production hub, AMCOP, AMC is ending your year in style with the world premiere of our very own original movies, showcasing excellent African storytelling by home-grown talent. Every Sunday night at 21:00 GMT/23:00 CAT, we are gracing your screens with movies to thrill, excite and pull on your heartstrings. Exclusive to AMC Series.

×

The Nollywood Phenomenon

Nollywood is the second largest film industry in the world. It produces circa 2,500 movies annually, and is extremely popular with Africans at home and the Diaspora, African-Americans, Afro-Caribbeans, and “African culture fans”.

Currently, Nollywood films significantly outsell Hollywood films in Nigeria and many countries in sub-Saharan Africa; they are available in even the most remote areas of the continent.

New forms of distribution include digital distribution pioneered by the African Movie Channel through its online high quality On-Demand services, and soon, via its Roku channel and iPad app.

African Movie Channel's 24-hour linear channel, AMC24, launched in May 2011, is available in more than 5 million homes across 14 countries. It is one of the most popular channels in Africa.

Nollywood movies are now regularly screened alongside mainstream movies in cinemas in Nigeria, Ghana, the UK and North America. Nollywood films are also receiving wider distribution as more and more Nigerian producers and directors are attending internationally acclaimed film festivals.

×

AMC MOVIE TALK

AMC Movie Talk Season 2

Join us every week on the AMC couch as we talk to the biggest movers and shakers in the buzzing industry. We are putting you in the know with all things in African and Nollywood cinema; Actors, actresses, directors, producers, filmmakers, classic cinema and soon to be blockbuster hits - it’s all here for you on AMC Movie Talk.

AMC Movie Talk Season 2, Mondays & Fridays @ 20:30 GMT / 22:30 CAT, exclusively on AMC Series

×
AUGUST 2020 HIGHLIGHTS
  • BRAND NEW & EXCLUSIVE: The Weekly Roast with Azi Stephen
    Starting 14th August Fridays 7PM GMT / 8PM WAT / 9PM CAT on AMC Series

    A satirical news show bringing you a comic and entertaining insight on societal, political, and public news. Join Azi as he breaks down what is currently buzzing on the continent and all around the world. Exclusive to AMC.

     

    TV PREMIERE: Lagos Sketches
    Tuesdays 6PM GMT / 7PM WAT / 8PM CAT on AMC Series

    Lagos Sketches is a comedy that is centred around living in one of Africa's largest cities, Lagos. It is a satirical take on the colourful personalities that the city is known for, chronicling the good, the bad and the funny aspects of Lagos living. Starring Genoveva Umeh, Oluwatobiloloba Olaniyi & Kelvin Mary Ndukwe.

     

    Life Of A Nigerian Couple Season 2
    Starting 14th August Fridays 6:30PM GMT / 7:30PM WAT / 8:30PM CAT on AMC Series

    The Life of a Nigerian Couple is a hilarious comedy which chronicles the story of a young Nigerian couple who are trying their best to co-exist without killing each other first. Starring Okey Uzoeshi, Bisola Aiyeola, Uduak Patrick, Sage Hassan.

     

    Meltdown
    Mondays to Fridays 6:30PM GMT / 7:30PM WAT / 8:30PM CAT on AMC Series

    While the Mukoro are neck deep in a tidal wave of a financial quagmire, the past comes calling. Long buried secrets are exhumed, extinguished flames are rekindled, and recoiled fangs are bared. Throw unbridled love and incest in this cauldron and the resultant effect is a MELTDOWN. Starring Uche Nwaefuna, Akin Lewis, Ngozi Nwosu, Michael Okon.

     

    BRAND NEW & EXCLUSIVE: AMC @ Home
    Fridays 6PM GMT / 7PM WAT / 8PM CAT on AMC Series

    Join our host, Izzy Idiaru, for a new virtual "isolation" show featuring celebrities and public figures alike as they give us their best stories from home about these current times. Exclusive to AMC.

     

×

African Movie Channel’s two 24-hour linear channels, African Movie Channel and African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series), are available on multiple TV platforms in more than 5 million homes across several African countries.

Reach us

The channels are dedicated to showing only the best quality movies and series from Nigeria’s Nollywood, and the best from the rest of Africa, and are designed to be offered on various TV platforms across the African continent and beyond.

Our channels, considered to be amongst the fastest growing channels in Africa, are presently two of the most popular channels on the continent!

AMC Movies and AMC Series are the best channels of their kind there are, because over the years, AMC has built up significant experience from identifying desirable content, and has invaluable access to popular and compelling African content, and contacts in the African media industry.

×

In the News...

African Movie Channel's AMC Series Returns To StarTimes

 

A year after African Movie Channel’s AMC Series channel departed StarTimes, it is making its return to the television platform.

Following a new deal signed in August with StarTimes, the international Pay TV operator and UK based broadcaster, African Movie Channel (AMC) will launch African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series) on the StarTimes DTT and DTH African television platforms, on 30th August 2019.

×

African Movie Channel Rolls Out Production Hub

African Movie Channel (AMC) officialises its progress into the development and production of its own movies and TV Series through its newly created production division, AMC Original Productions – AMCOP. The African film industry is facing wider international recognition and it is important that industry players continue to contribute even more to its expansion, and for wider mainstream audience.

×

Official Launch of African Movie Channel’s First TV Series – Asunder

It was a colourful evening at The Wheatbaker Hotel Ikoyi on Saturday 10th December, 2016 as African Movie Channel (AMC) launched its first TV series, ASUNDER, a 65 episode series that analyses the challenges faced in today’s marriages and relationships.

Guests included casts from the Asunder series, Nollywood actors, media buyers as well as other industry personalities who came to show their support and were entertained with a preview of the ASUNDER series.

×

African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series) Arrives On Azam TV

International Pay TV broadcaster, African Movie Channel (AMC) today launched its second channel, African Movie Channel Series (AMC Series) on Azam Pay TV Limited’s Azam TV television platform.

From today, August 1, 2016, Azam TV’s subscribers are able to watch exciting Nollywood and other premium African TV series from a variety of genres including drama, comedy, reality and lifestyle shows, 24 hours a day.

×